FD oil leaking into brakes

Are ya having a problem with your rig? We'll try to help. Share your tech tips and experiences here. Dr. Billy Glaser, author of the "Unofficial 750 Ural Service Manual" site myural.com, is moderating this section.
Forum rules
Here is the place for you to ask questions about or share your experiences about servicing or repairing your Ural or Dnepr. Please post topics concering modifications or accesories in the "Modifications and Acessories" section. Please post oil related questions in the "Oil Threads" section.
l3o

FD oil leaking into brakes

Post by l3o » Mon Aug 19, 2019 11:21 am

I've got a 00 Bavarian with 1000KM on it. I just started riding it more than around town - expecting to find some bad seals. So far, there's a bad leak at the reverse lever - ordered new seal. Now, the final drive oil appears to be leaking into the rear hub/brakes, going up the spokes and coating the wheel. I have the wheel off, cleaned it out. I assume there's a seal under this flange - is that the culprit or something else? I was unable to locate it in a parts diagram - they all seem to be from the other side. So, what might be leaking?

Thanks. :bow:
ural - 1.jpg
ural - 1 (1).jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

l3o

Re: FD oil leaking into brakes

Post by l3o » Mon Aug 19, 2019 11:55 am

I took it off - seal seems to be in good shape, there appears to be a weep hole at the bottom of the flange. So, maybe it just spewed out oil by design?

l3o

Post by l3o » Mon Aug 19, 2019 12:12 pm

I think maybe there was too much fluid in there to begin with. My manual says 105mL, which when I fill it to that level, it's a bit lower than it was before it puked. It's just about to the bottom threads of the fill plug.

Claus
Hero of the Soviet Union - 2019

Post by Claus » Mon Aug 19, 2019 12:16 pm