Gas Can Spout - Update

Newbies, introduce yourself here. Are you thinking about getting one and have questions? Ask your basic questions here. Please post any tech questions in "The Order of The Greasy Wrench" section.
Forum rules
Here's the place for those who are newb or thinking about buying a Ural or Dnepr to introduce themselves ask those typical "newbie" questions. Try using the "Search" link at the top of the page to see if your question may have been asked before. Please post any tech questions in "The Order of the Greasy Wrench" section.
tank4all
Party Member
Party Member

Gas Can Spout - Update

Post by tank4all » Fri May 13, 2016 9:46 am

I have a gas can on my Rig that I've never really used as extra fuel. Initially I had the can filled with sand to use as a counter weight as I'm new to motorcycles and sidecars. I feel comfortable enough now that I no longer need the counter weight and want to carry some extra fuel with me (I've cleaned the can). My question is what do people to when you have to pour fuel into the gas tank from a gas can? Does anyone know if the following will work as a spout on my can type (photo below)?

http://www.amazon.com/Hi-Flo-Gas-Can-Sp ... B00DGVRXD2

I feel like if I don't use a spout or a funnel I'll just end up pouring fuel all over my tank.

*UPDATE* So the Amazon order came and like some users have said it did not fit. Good news is I now have a spout that is easy to use and not of those stupid child safe spouts that I can't seem to figure out and always leak.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by tank4all on Mon May 16, 2016 1:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
2001 Tourist

Bilgekeeldave
Commissar
Commissar

Re: Gas Can Spout

Post by Bilgekeeldave » Fri May 13, 2016 9:50 am

I use a funnel.
Dave

RAMCO-Dnepr MT-16

GHGoodwin
Hero of the Soviet Union - 2020

Post by GHGoodwin » Fri May 13, 2016 10:00 am

Siphon. You'll only need a piece of fuel resistant hose.
Hal