Best Ural Tool Roll Ever?

Welcome Comrade! Pull up a barstool and order yourself a virtual vodka or Baltika and enjoy the camaraderie of other Soviet bloc bike enthusiasts. Nastrovya! This is the place for generic conversations about bikes and life in general.
Forum rules
This is the place for general discussion about motorcycles and life in general. No political posts. Use The "Other" Toy Box section for other bikes, guns, collectibles or hobbies.
BinDerSmokDat
Hero of the Soviet Union - 2020

Best Ural Tool Roll Ever?

Post by BinDerSmokDat » Fri Feb 07, 2020 5:46 pm

Probably not. :lol:
But while I have your attention, let me show you what I just picked up on Amazon.

I saw an Atlas 46 Yorktown tool roll in a pop-up ad, but when I went shopping for them I saw that they sell for $140!!! :shock:
I'm sure it's nice and has YKK zippers and is 'Murican made, but I'd feel weird having my tool roll be the most expensive thing in the trunk.

If I was a tactical combat rocket surgeon and had to repair a Bradley fighting vehicle as it was rolling and firing at the same time, I'd get the Atlas.
But being this is a Ural and the quality of my tool roll is slightly less mission critical, I decided to try the Chinese-made knock-off, for over a $100 less.

So what made me re-think my tool storage situation?
Last month on the New Year Ride I couldn't find my circuit tester to save my life.
It turned out that ReCycled had one but it bugged me, I just figured I left it at home.
Nope turns out it was in my trunk the whole time.
Instead of all my electrical stuff like circuit tester, spark tester, spare plugs, fuses being in one place I had a little bit scattered across two Husky tool bags, some Husky zipper pouches and an assortment of other pouches.
At some point my gear storage choices made sense but over time I had crept further and further away from simplicity to the point I couldn't find anything.
So I decided an upgrade was in order.